Parish Councillors Details

Meet your Parish Councillors!

Below are photographs of your Parish Councillors, they are all volunteers and are unpaid for the jobs they do for the Parish of Linton. You can email them by clicking on their names..

I have also added pictures of our Borough Councillors for Maidstone and our Kent County Councillor


Chairman of the Parish Council:

Bernard Cresswell: Bernard is a retired Detective Inspector from the Metropolitan Police. Other engagments include Company Director and Company Secretary for a property management company, Document Field Agent servicing the legal profession and support services. Group Scout Leader in London Borough of Bexley. Main Hobby is that of a motorcycling Road Captain for the Harley-Davidson Owners Group. He took over from Jerry Whitmarsh as Chairman in May 2018. His phone number is 01622 532516

Cllr Bernard Cresswell

Vice Chairman:

Ian Firmin:  Ian helps run the successful, family business of Alan Firmin Ltd and has lived in the village all his life, providing employment for local people, supporting many local businesses that use the the firms business units in Linton and Marden.

Cllr Ian Firmin, Vice Chairman


Pat Burden: Pat lives in Wheeler’s Lane. She is a Trustee and Secretary of Linton Village Hall, as well as Linton’s Neighbourhood Watch Co-ordinator

Pat Burden

 Darren CarpenterDarren lived in the village for a number of years, and runs a funeral parlour.

Cllr Darren Carpenter


Linda Potter: Linda lives in Cornwallis Avenue. For the past 14 years she has worked within the Social Housing sector, working for a large RSL (Riverside Housing Group). She is our newest recruit, having been co-opted onto the Parish Council in April 2017.

Cllr Linda Potter .. this photo not taken in Linton, I think!


James Smith:  James lives in Loddington. He is a farmer who, with his family, has farmed in Linton and the surrounding area for a long time.  He also supports many small local business in units on his land,  everything from a local Brewery to Florists.  James is also former Chairman of the Kent National Farmers Union.

Cllr James Smith



Jerry Whitmarsh: Jerry has lived in this part of Kent for most of his life and in Westerhill, Linton for more than twenty years. He has undertaken a number of different voluntary roles in Linton and in addition to joining the Parish Council in 2002, and being former Parish Council Chairman (and Vice Chairman), and webmaster for this site, he is currently Chairman of the Friends of Linton Church, and organiser of the famous Linton Walks 

Jerry prefers emails to phone calls, and will normally answer them quickly, but he wants to be contactable.. so, in case of need, his telephone no. is 01622 747572

Cllr Jerry Whitmarsh

Our Borough Councillors are:


Lottie Louise Parfitt-Webb (Con)

Richard Webb


Richard Webb (Ind)


 Emily Fermor

Emily Fermor (Lib Dem)


Our County Councillor is:


Paulina Stockell

Paulina Stockell
Paulina Stockell


Our Parish Clerk is

Sherrie Babington

Sherrie Babington
4 Birkhall Close
Kent ME5 7QD
Tel: 01634 863719